棲息地

魚類養殖@TNC

近岸海洋環境通常以敏感和關鍵的棲息地為特徵,例如紅樹林、苗圃和產卵場、海草床和遷徙路線。 如果水產養殖場選址不正確,並且沒有嚴格遵守正確的管理規程,長期的網箱作業可能會對海底和極其寶貴的環境造成不利影響。

網箱選址不當和管理不當對環境造成的一些負面影響是減少了對生態系統至關重要的當地底棲物種和棲息地的豐度和多樣性,增加了環境無法隔離的溶解有機固體和營養物質,減少了水質量低於安全水平,並對網箱周圍敏感的生態系統造成影響。 如果許可者和管理人員遵循嚴格的選址協議,同時考慮到眾多環境因素,沿海水產養殖對環境的影響最小。

 

減輕水產養殖的影響

減輕水產養殖的影響。 如果位置適當,養魚場對周圍的棲息地和水質的影響極小。 來源: 在新窗口中打開現場科學交流

水產養殖也被證明對周圍環境產生有益的影響。 水產養殖設備及其上面和內部培養的生物可以提供有利於魚類和無脊椎動物的三維結構化棲息地。 農場可以為幼魚和無脊椎動物和水產養殖生物提供避難所,與農場相關的生物污染群落可以提供食物資源。

在馬達加斯加,研究發現海參養殖場對海草草場產生積極影響,提高了某些物種的生長速度。 文獻 海參通過掩埋幫助氧化和疏鬆沉積物,這可以促進更大的地下海草生長。 它們還攝取和排泄大量沉積物,為海草提供額外的營養以支持生長。 文獻

海洋生物豐富 海藻和貝類養殖場 TNC

海藻和貝類養殖場擁有豐富的海洋生物。 資料來源:TNC 2021

選址

在熱帶珊瑚礁地區規劃或批准水產養殖場時要考慮的一個非常重要的問題是與珊瑚礁的距離。 珊瑚礁是敏感的生態系統,為許多珊瑚魚提供庇護和育苗場,附近水產養殖的水質輕微變化可能會對其產生負面影響。 在有鰭魚類養殖中,來自網箱的天然魚類排泄物會慢慢落到海底,如果網箱太淺或流量低,這些廢物會在海底堆積。 但是,如果存在良好的水流,則廢物可以向下游運輸並消散在環境中; 如果進出潮也存在,那麼廢物可以雙向運輸和分散。 文獻

與珊瑚礁類似,在規劃和許可階段需要考慮海草床和其他敏感棲息地(產卵場和苗圃)。 海草床為儒艮和海洋棲息地等海洋哺乳動物提供食物,但魚渣或網箱中的多餘飼料可以覆蓋海草床,從而阻止了光合作用所需的光。 為了保護這些敏感的棲息地,需要考慮水平距離以及洋流和潮汐。 文獻

取決於各種環境參數、物種選擇以及監管和許可框架,水產養殖場與敏感棲息地的允許距離可能會有很大差異,這使得難以設定具體和普遍的最小距離。 以下是一些示例,說明距離建議可能因原產國、要保護的棲息地或提出此類建議的組織或機構而異。

地點環境參數推薦距離推薦機構
美國墨西哥灣底棲社區152米聯邦機構(BOEM)
美國加利福尼亞州鰻草床10米聯邦(NOAA)和州機構(CCC)
帕勞珊瑚礁200 m(選址指南)地方政府和非政府組織

資料來源:推薦距離–美國內政部(美國墨西哥灣),加利福尼亞州自然資源局(美國加利福尼亞州),Hedberg等人。 2015(越南中部和帕勞)

 

如果有適當的水流並且不超過環境的生態限制,魚類網箱產生的廢物可以適當和自然地被海洋環境隔離和利用。 如果在飼養過程中從籠子中產生過多的營養物質,而廢物不能被同化,它們就會積聚起來,對當地造成長期損害。 如果過量的飼料和糞便堆積在周圍的海底,微生物分解導致的呼吸增加將導致沉積物中氧氣的消耗並改變其化學性質。 當氧氣被微生物呼吸耗盡時,厭氧細菌將開始盛行,導致缺氧或缺氧條件,並導致二氧化碳的產生、氨的硝化以及錳、鐵和硫的還原。

如果允許海底轉向厭氧細菌群落,硫化物的墊層將在受影響的表面定殖,並將成為唯一可見的生物。 經歷了物理和化學變化的有鰭魚網箱下方的海底也發生了物種組成和多樣性的變化。 研究發現,人們正在轉向更寬容的通才生物,例如多毛類,以及軟體動物和甲殼類動物的減少。 文獻

海藻的好壞做法 Colin Hayes TNC

坦桑尼亞好(上)與差(下)海藻養殖場選址的例子。 圖片 © Colin Hayes/TNC

如果在考慮潮流,潮汐和適當的飼餵方案的同時進行適當的規劃和管理,則可以最大程度地減少對周圍環境的負面影響。 文獻  適當的規劃也可用於最大限度地提高海藻或貝類水產養殖的環境效益。 例如,在魚類種群面臨棲息地限制的地區建立農場可能比在野生動物不受自然棲息地可用性限制的地區建立農場具有更大的環境價值。 同樣,位於已知富營養化地區的養分提取農場可能比位於未遭受養分污染地區的農場具有更大的水質效益。

建議

  • 避免破壞本地生物多樣性,特別是受保護物種
  • 在遠離珊瑚,海草,紅樹林和其他敏感棲息地的地方進行養殖,並確保漁具和繫泊設備不會損害棲息地
  • 採用方法以盡量減少對棲息地的物理干擾,包括但不限於確保網箱的適當深度和電流
  • 如果養分含量超過生態閾值,則進行網箱旋轉或休耕
  • 與珊瑚的公認距離為200米,對水質,底棲環境和敏感棲息地的影響最小

 

海底深度

根據擬建或目前的網箱養殖場中水流的速度,可能需要更大的深度,以減少魚廢和過量飼料對周圍環境的影響。 如果網箱的位置離珊瑚礁太近,則養殖場的廢水或廢棄設備會沉入海底,並對底棲環境造成不利影響。 此外,如果籠子位於海草床上方的淺層區域,則籠子可能會遮擋海草並影響其生長和光合作用。 文獻  看到 水污染 部分以獲取有關最佳深度的更多信息。

建議

  • 確保網箱正下方沒有敏感的棲息地。 如果可能,請選擇多沙的區域並且不與敏感區域相鄰。
  • 選擇一個適合籠子深度和電流的地點
  • 現場養殖距離網箱底部至少兩倍的深度

 

跑步裝備

根據地理位置,特定地點,所選物種,作業規模和可用資金,可以使用不同類型的齒輪和保持架類型。 如果水產養殖設備設計不當,質量不佳或不定期維護,則可能會從網箱中脫離或折斷,並對當地的棲息地,海洋哺乳動物或遊輪造成負面影響。 文獻 根據裝備和位置的不同,捕食者可能能夠咬破網捕食並破壞養殖物種。 但是,如果設計、選址和維護得當,籠子可以持續使用數年而無需更換。

此外,某些類型的設備在創造棲息地和增強環境效益方面比其他設備更好。 裝備和支撐結構可以增加野生魚類和其他物種的覓食、繁殖和避難棲息地。 例如,雙殼類養殖可以創造補充結構,模仿自然雙殼類棲息地,並促進野生種子的募集。 包括網或其他網狀材料的養殖設備可以保護幼魚免受捕食者的侵害,並可以增加水產養殖場周圍的物種豐富度。 延繩海藻養殖或貽貝延繩漁具等懸浮培養可以提供作為野生魚類和無脊椎動物物種棲息地的樹冠。

建議

  • 努力防止掠食者破壞漁具,並考慮使用海洋哺乳動物阻止裝置,僅在適當的情況下並由對當地情況和生態系統了解的科學家推薦
  • 使用旨在減少海洋動物的糾纏和掠食的高質量齒輪和繩索
  • 制定並遵循標準化協議,以定期監視和維護保持架和裝備
  • 在進入和維護網箱時,請遵循適當的划船規程,以最大程度地減少與海洋哺乳動物和受保護物種的相互作用

 

監控

法規應管理海洋環境中水產養殖的適當選址,並包括監測要求,儘管在某些國家可能並非如此。 必須在生產週期中對農場污水、附近水質和農場影響進行監測,以觀察和記錄可能發生的任何棲息地影響。 文獻 監測水產養殖廢水的良好資源是 在新窗口中打開地中海和黑海海洋有鰭魚網箱養殖協調環境監測計劃(EMP)指南打開PDF文件 。 監視的一個重要方面是在安裝任何籠子或齒輪之前進行基線評估,以了解在籠子的建造和操作過程中會發生什麼樣的變化。

建議

  • 在安置農場之前,在農場區域中建立條件基線,以便可以對未來的任何影響進行定量評估
  • 建立更好的農場管理規範並製定農場監控計劃
  • 對農場進行定期監測,以評估是否正在發生棲息地影響 - 方法可能包括視頻、照片和通過潛水進行的海底採樣。

 

por youjizz xxx 老師xxx 性別
Translate »

Habitat

Fish Aquaculture @TNC

Nearshore marine environments are often characterized by sensitive and key habitats such as mangroves, nursery and spawning grounds, seagrass beds, and migratory routes. If aquaculture farms are not sited properly and correct managerial protocols are not strictly followed, long-term cage operations can cause detrimental impacts to the seafloor and to critically valuable environments.

Some of these negative effects on the environment caused by poorly sited and managed cages is reduction of abundance and diversity of local benthic species and habitats that are essential to the ecosystem, increase in dissolved organic solids and nutrients that the environment cannot sequester, decrease of water quality below safe levels, and impacts to sensitive ecosystems surrounding the cages. If permitters and managers follow strict siting protocols while taking into account numerous environmental factors, coastal aquaculture can have minimal impact on the environment.

 

impact mitigation of aquaculture

Impact mitigation of aquaculture. When properly sited, fish farms can have a minimal effect on surrounding habitats and water quality. Source: opens in a new windowScite Science Communication

Aquaculture has also been shown to have beneficial impacts on the surrounding environment. Aquaculture gear and the organisms cultivated on and within them can provide three-dimensional structured habitat that can benefit fish and invertebrates. Farms can provide refugia for juvenile fish and invertebrates and aquaculture organisms and biofouling communities associated with farms can provide food resources.

In Madagascar, sea cucumber farms studied were found to positively impact seagrass meadows, increasing the growth rates of certain species. ref Sea cucumbers help oxygenate and loosen sediment through burying which can facilitate greater belowground seagrass growth. They also ingest and excrete large amounts of sediments, which provide seagrass with added nutrients to support growth. ref

Marine life abundance seaweed and shellfish farms TNC

Abundance of marine life at seaweed and shellfish farms. Source: TNC 2021

Site Selection

An incredibly important issue to consider when planning or permitting aquaculture farms in tropical reef areas is the distance from coral reefs. Coral reefs are sensitive ecosystems that provide shelter and nursery grounds to many reef fish and can be negatively affected by slight changes in water quality from nearby aquaculture. In finfish aquaculture, natural fish waste from a cage will slowly fall to the seafloor, which can build up on the seafloor if the cage is too shallow or if there is low flow. However, if good currents exist, waste can instead be transported downstream and dissipated in the environment; if ingoing and outgoing tides also exist, then waste can be transported and dispersed in both directions. ref

Similar to coral reefs, seagrass beds and other sensitive habitats (spawning grounds and nurseries) need to be considered during the planning and permitting phase. Seagrass beds provide food for marine mammals such as dugongs and habitat for fish, but fish waste or excess feed from cages can cover seagrass beds, blocking out light needed for photosynthesis. Horizontal distance as well as currents and tides need to be taken into account to safeguard the preservation of these sensitive habitats. ref

Depending on a variety of environmental parameters, species selection, and regulatory and permitting frameworks, the allowed distance of aquaculture farms to sensitive habitats can vary greatly, which makes it difficult to set a concrete and universal minimum distance. Here are a few examples to demonstrate how distance recommendations may differ depending on the country of origin, habitat to be protected, or by what organization or body is proposing such recommendation.

LocationEnvironmental ParameterRecommended DistanceRecommending Body
Gulf of Mexico, USABenthic communities152 mFederal Agency (BOEM)
California, USAEelgrass beds10 mFederal (NOAA) & State Agencies (CCC)
PalauCoral reefs200 m (siting guideline)Local government & NGO

Source: Recommended Distance – United States Department of the Interior (Gulf of Mexico, USA), State of California Natural Resources Agency (California, USA), Hedberg et al. 2015 (Central Vietnam and Palau)

 

Waste generated from a finfish cage can be properly and naturally sequestered and utilized by the marine environment if there is proper current and the ecological limits of the environment are not exceeded. If excess nutrients are produced from the cage during feeding and the waste cannot be assimilated, they can build up and cause long-term damage to the local area. If excess feed and feces accumulate on the surrounding seafloor, increased respiration from microbial decomposition will lead to the depletion of oxygen in the sediment and alter its chemistry. As oxygen is depleted by microbial respiration, anaerobic bacteria will begin to prevail leading to hypoxic or anoxic conditions and to the production of carbon dioxide, nitrification of ammonia, and the reduction of manganese, iron and sulfur.

If the seafloor is allowed to shift towards an anaerobic bacterial community, mats of sulfide oxide will colonize the affected surface and will be the only visible organism. Seafloors beneath finfish cages that have undergone physical and chemical alteration have also seen changes in species composition and diversity. Studies have found that there is a shift towards more tolerant generalist organisms such as polychaetes, and a decrease in mollusks and crustaceans. ref

Good and Bad Seaweed Practices Colin Hayes TNC

Example of good (top) vs poor (bottom) seaweed farm siting in Tanzania. Images © Colin Hayes/TNC

If proper planning and management are carried out while taking into account currents, tides, and the proper feeding protocols, it is possible to minimize negative impacts to the surrounding environment. ref  Proper planning can also be used to maximize environmental benefits from seaweed or shellfish aquaculture. For example, siting a farm in an area where fish stocks face habitat limitations could have substantially greater environmental value than a farm sited in areas where wildlife is not limited by the availability of natural habitats. Similarly, a nutrient-extractive farm that is sited in a known eutrophic area will likely have greater water quality benefits than a farm sited in an area not experiencing nutrient pollution.

Recommendations

  • Avoid disruption to native biodiversity, especially protected species
  • Site farms away from corals, seagrass, mangroves, and other sensitive habitats, and make sure that gear and moorings are not damaging habitats
  • Employ methods to minimize physical disturbance to habitat, including but not limited to ensuring appropriate depth and current for cages
  • Implement cage rotation or fallowing if nutrient loading exceeds the ecological threshold
  • A generally accepted distance from corals is 200 meters to have minimal impacts on water quality, benthic environment, and sensitive habitats

 

Seafloor Depth

Depending on the speed of the currents in the proposed or current cage site, greater depths may be needed to reduce impacts of fish waste and excess feed on surrounding environments. If the cage is located too close to a coral reef, effluents or derelict gear from the farm can sink to the seafloor and negatively impact the benthic environment. Additionally, if the cage is located in a shallow area above a seagrass bed, the cage has the potential to shade the seagrass and impact it’s growth and photosynthesis. ref  See the Water Pollution section for more information on optimal depth.

Recommendations

  • Ensure that there are no sensitive habitats directly under the cages. If possible, select areas that are mostly sandy and not adjacent to sensitive areas.
  • Select a site that has appropriate depth and current for the cages
  • Site farms at a minimum of twice the depth from the bottom of the cage

 

Gear

Different types of gear and cage types can be used depending on the geography, specific site, selected species, size of operation, and funding available. If aquaculture gear is not designed properly, is of poor quality, or is not serviced regularly,  it may detach or break from the cage and negatively impact local habitats, marine mammals, or travelling vessels. ref Depending on the gear and location, predators may be able to bite through the net to prey upon and damage the cultured species. However, if properly designed, sited, and maintained, cages can last for years without needing replacement.

Additionally, some types of gear are better at creating habitat and enhancing environmental benefits than others. Gear and supporting structures can increase foraging, breeding, and refuge habitat for wild fish and other species. For example, the culture of bivalves can create supplemental structure, mimic natural bivalve habitats, and facilitate the recruitment of wild seed. Cultivation gear that includes nets or other mesh material can serve as protection from predators for juvenile fish and can increase the abundance of species around the aquaculture site. Suspended culture, such as longline seaweed cultivation or mussel longline gear can provide a canopy that serves as a habitat for wild fish and invertebrate species.

Recommendations

  • Take efforts to prevent predators from damaging gear and consider utilizing marine mammal deterring devices, only as appropriate and recommended by scientists knowledgeable about local conditions and ecosystems
  • Use high quality gear and ropes that are designed to reduce minimize entanglement and predation from marine animals
  • Develop and follow a standardized protocol for routinely monitoring and maintaining the cages and gear
  • Follow proper boating protocols when accessing and maintaining the cages in order to minimize interactions with marine mammals and protected species

 

Monitoring

Regulations should govern proper siting of aquaculture in the marine environment, and include requirements for monitoring, although this may not be the case in some countries. It is imperative to carry out monitoring of farm effluent, nearby water quality, and farm impacts during the production cycle to observe and record any habitat impacts that may be occurring. ref A good resource on monitoring aquaculture effluent is opens in a new windowGuidelines on a Harmonized Environmental Monitoring Programme (EMP) for Marine Finfish Cage Farming in the Mediterranean and the Black Seaopens PDF file . An important aspect of monitoring is conducting a baseline assessment before installing any cage or gear to know what kind of changes occur during construction and operation of the cages.

Recommendations

  • Establish a baseline of conditions in the farm area before placing farms so that any future impacts can be quantitatively assessed
  • Establish better management practices for the farm and create a farm monitoring plan
  • Conduct regular monitoring of the farm to assess whether habitat impacts are occurring - methods could include video, photos, and seafloor sampling via diving.

 

pporno youjizz xmxx teacher xxx Sex
Translate »