現有的處理系統

水下污水管。照片 © Grafner/iStock

自最早的定居文明以來,管理生活垃圾一直是人們關注的問題。 歷史上,廢水被排放到最近的水道中,利用稀釋和氧化進行處理。 這種「自我淨化」的想法並沒有錯,而是正確的。 許多污染物可以透過充分暴露、時間和稀釋的自然過程去除。 然而,人口成長和廢水污染的增加使這種方法變得不夠。 水傳播疾病的發現促進了衛生系統的發展,其目標是將廢水與飲用水分離以保護人類健康。 文獻 此後,人們開發了許多處理系統,以減少進入海洋的人類原始廢物的數量。 以下是目前使用的常見廢水處理系統的介紹。

廢水處理系統的類型

集中處理系統

人口密集地區和工業化城市主要依賴集中式污水處理廠接收和處理污水。 錯綜複雜的地下污水管網利用重力和抽水機將住宅和建築物中的污水輸送到處理廠。 污水到達污水處理廠後,會經過幾個階段的處理後才會排放:

  • 或物理處理始於篩分:污水通過篩分以除去大的固體。 流出的 然後將其送入沉澱池,在重力作用下沉澱出更多的懸浮固體。
  • 次要或生物處理旨在在消毒之前從污水中去除有機物。 氧氣和微生物被用來催化和促進分解污染物的生化反應。 該過程模擬了自然系統,並通過曝氣或暴露於額外的氧氣而變得更加高效。 分解所必需的氧氣,通氣有助於消除溶解的氣體。 這些反應最終促使剩餘的顆粒沉降。 生物處理的常用技術包括滴濾器和活性污泥,它們增加了微生物可利用的表面積及其密度。
  • 第三或化學處理可用於促進進一步沉降和營養去除。 添加的聚合物吸引污染物以形成團塊,而碳或木炭過濾器則催化物理吸附以減少養分。
  • 最後,對廢水進行消毒以中和任何殘留的病原體。 氯是最常見的消毒劑之一, UV 為了使殘留化學濃度最小化,可優選使用臭氧或臭氧。 文獻
廢水從進水管流經廢水處理廠至排放。資料來源:Mallik 和 Arefin 2018

廢水從進水管流經廢水處理廠至排放。來源: Mallik和Arefin 2018

所使用的處理類型和處理後的水的品質因位置、水條件、處理技術的可用性、污染減少目標和其他因素而異。一些國家需要一級和二級處理,並且採用三級處理的設施數量正在增加。 文獻 然而,即使需要治療,失敗也很常見,不應認為法規保證了充分的治療。 在市政和設施層面,通常會對廢水中的營養物濃度進行限制,以解決營養物負荷和由此產生的問題 水體富營養化. 雖然處理標準很有幫助,但如果不廣泛實施減少養分的措施,它們還不足以保護海洋生態系統免受污染。

聯合下水道系統

在大城市中,許多景觀缺乏 吸收 土壤、草原、森林和其他自然特徵提供的保持能力。 下雨時,水流過不透水的(即鋪砌的)表面,收集碎片和污染物並成為污染的徑流,通常稱為 雨水。 為了最大限度地減少對水體的影響,許多城市建立了合流下水道系統,將多個地點的雨水收集並輸送到與污水相同的集中式廢水處理廠。 這使得處理廠能夠去除雨水中含有的油類、農藥、細菌、沉積物和其他污染物。 雖然合流下水道系統看似高效,但暴風雨、大量融雪,有時甚至小雨都可能超出這些管道、儲水箱和處理系統的容量。 不堪負荷的系統將大量未經處理的廢水(包括原污水)排放到水道中。 在美國,有 40 萬人使用合流下水道,每年在合流下水道溢流事件中排放超過 3 兆公升未經處理的污水和雨水徑流。 文獻

請參閱島上集中廢水處理工作的案例研究 洪都拉斯羅丹.

集中處理系統總結

  • 集中式系統提高了治療效率,鞏固了維護成本,並最大限度地減少了 面源污染
  • 集中式系統的缺點包括大量的初始投資,昂貴的技術維護,能力限制,易受洩漏,易受天氣影響以及養分去除不足

 

分散處理系統

分散式廢水處理系統或無下水道衛生系統是用於管理人類廢物的小型現場系統。

傳統的化糞池系統。 來源:EPA 2018

傳統的化糞池系統。 來源:EPA 2018

分散式廢水處理系統在產生廢水的地點收集、處理和排放廢水。 存在多種類型的現場處理系統。 以下類型是全球最常見的:

  • 化糞池系統 通常包括化糞池和排水場。 儲槽是一種埋地的防水容器,通常由混凝土、玻璃纖維或聚乙烯製成。 有機物在池中被消化,該過程從廢水中分離出可漂浮物質(例如油和油脂)和固體。 流出物緩慢地從池中排放到埋在浸出場、浸出室或其他特殊裝置中的一系列穿孔管道中。
  • 排水田是化糞池系統的一部分,可在排入地下水或地表水之前,透過土壤、礫石或其他材料中的微生物對廢水進行額外處理。
  • 水池 具有一個遏制和處理步驟。挖掘或建造的坑收集污水進行自然沉澱。坑可能沒有襯裡,或用石頭或混凝土屏障與土壤和地下水隔開。化糞池不能提供足夠的處理,許多地方正在被更有效的處理系統所取代。
  • 基於容器的系統 在現場收集和儲存廢水,並要求將廢物運往別處進行處理。 這些系統主要存在於基礎設施有限的地區,包括坑式廁所(一旦裝滿就需要清空)和桶式廁所(每天清空)。 從基於容器的選項收集的廢物的處理範圍可以從傳統的處理過程、新的資源回收實踐或根本不處理。

長島自然保護區下面的視頻提供了化糞池和污水池系統的更詳細說明。

傳統的化糞池系統和化糞池並非旨在去除污水中的營養物或其他污染物,這可能對沿海地區的海洋環境構成危險威脅。 最近開發了解決分散系統中營養物去除問題的技術,但由於全球缺乏對廢水中營養物的監管,這些新解決方案尚未廣泛實施。 升級分散式系統以加強營養物減少的成本很高,但已證明比建造新的大型廢水處理設施具有更高的成本效率。 了解有關這些新技術的更多信息 新興管理解決方案 本工具包的部分。 去中心化系統的其他缺點包括洩漏和故障,這可能會導致非點源污染並且常常未被發現; 即使污染源被追蹤到,違規行為幾乎不會造成什麼後果,因此執法的機會很小。

分散式處理系統總結

  • 分散式治療是個體化的,規模較小且服務於一定範圍的人口密度
  • 分散系統的缺點包括經常的管理不善或疏忽導致不合規,營養去除不充分和新出現的污染物以及不對雨水進行處理

從排污管排放。 照片·Pixabay上的免費照片

經集中或分散系統處理後,處理後的污水直接排放到附近的水體或地下。 適用於廢水的處理類型和排放位置會影響廢水對海洋的污染程度。 排污管 將污水直接排入河流和海洋。或者,排水田、土壤、濕地和植被可以減緩污水滲入地下水的速度,有助於去除污染物。這導致了先進的營養減少技術和基於自然的解決方案的發展,以減緩污水的流動。這 多米尼加共和國聖地亞哥的案例研究 在利用人工濕地減少流域有機污染物排放方面取得了巨大成功。 請參閱 新興管理解決方案 有關創新營養減少技術和基於自然的解決方案的更多信息,請參閱部分。

排放未經充分處理的廢水會增加人類、動物和生態系統的危險風險。 相對容易確定沿海大型處理廠是否將處理後的污水或未處理的污水直接排放到海洋中。 檢測較小的遏制系統和地下水排放的浸出更加困難。 請參閱 來自東非坦桑尼亞達累斯薩拉姆的案例研究 舉例說明如何解決坑式廁所內容物傾倒到環境的問題。

如何選擇廢水管理系統

有多種方法可以管理廢水。 廢水處理方法的選擇取決於特定地點和環境。 許多因素決定了哪種類型的系統更合適:下水道集中處理系統或現場分散處理系統。 對一個社區來說最好的解決方案可能不適用於另一個社區。 選擇廢水管理系統的考量因素應包括:

  • 社區資源
  • 人口規模
  • 社會和文化規範和期望
  • 政治支持或監管限制
  • 當地地質和水文
  • 污染減量目標
  • 現有基礎設施

在確定最適合您的場地和環境的衛生系統或技術時,海洋管理者可以參考考慮社會、人類健康和環境標準的決策支援工具。 例子包括 可持續衛生和水管理工具箱 這有助於根據選定的輸入或輸出突出顯示不同的衛生選項 文獻這個流程圖 來自 WaterAid 的數據,繪製了排泄物從源頭到海洋的流動圖,突顯了管理行動效果良好的區域和需要改進的區域。

por youjizz xxx 老師xxx 性別
Translate »

Existing Treatment Systems

Underwater sewer pipe. Photo © Grafner/iStock

Managing sanitary waste has been a concern since the earliest settled civilizations. Historically, wastewater was discharged into the nearest waterways, taking advantage of dilution and oxidation as treatment. This idea of “self-purification” was not incorrect; many contaminants can be removed by natural processes with sufficient exposure, time, and dilution. However, population growth, and an increase in wastewater pollution have rendered this approach inadequate. The discovery of water-borne illnesses resulted in development of sanitation systems with the goal to separate wastewater from drinking water to protect human health. ref Many treatment systems have since been developed to decrease the amount of raw human waste entering oceans. Below is an introduction to common wastewater treatment systems used today.

Types of Wastewater Treatment Systems

Centralized Treatment Systems

Densely populated areas and industrialized cities primarily rely on centralized wastewater treatment plants to receive and treat sewage. Intricate networks of underground sewer pipes bring sewage from homes and buildings to the treatment plant using gravity and pumps. Once sewage arrives at a wastewater treatment plant, it undergoes several stages of treatment before being discharged:

  • Primary, or physical, treatment begins with screening: sewage is passed through screens to remove large solids. Effluent is then brought to settling tanks where gravity helps to settle out additional suspended solids.
  • Secondary, or biological, treatment aims to remove organic matter from sewage before disinfection. Oxygen and microorganisms are used to catalyze and promote biochemical reactions that break down contaminants. This process models natural systems and is made more efficient by aeration or exposure to additional oxygen. Oxygen is necessary for decomposition, and aeration helps eliminate dissolved gases. These reactions eventually encourage remaining particles to settle out. Common techniques for biological treatment include trickling filters and activated sludge, which increase the surface area available to microorganisms, as well as their density.
  • Tertiary, or chemical, treatment is used to promote further settling and nutrient removal. Added polymers attract pollutants to create clumps while carbon or charcoal filters catalyze physical adsorption to reduce nutrients.
  • Finally, effluent is disinfected to neutralize any remaining pathogens. While chlorine is one of the most common disinfectants, UV or ozone may be preferred to minimize residual chemical concentrations. ref
The flow of effluent through a wastewater treatment plant from intake pipes to discharge. Source: Mallik and Arefin 2018

The flow of effluent through a wastewater treatment plant from intake pipes to discharge. Source: Mallik and Arefin 2018

The types of treatments used and the quality of the treated water varies based on location, water conditions, availability of treatment technology, pollution reduction goals, and other factors. Primary and secondary treatment are required in some countries and the number of facilities incorporating tertiary treatment is increasing. ref However, even where treatment is required, failures are common and it should not be assumed that regulations guarantee adequate treatment. At municipal and facility levels, there are often limitations on nutrient concentrations in effluent to address nutrient loading and the resulting eutrophication. While treatment criteria are helpful, they are not enough to protect marine ecosystems from pollution without widespread implementation of nutrient-reducing measures.

Combined Sewer Systems

In large urban cities, many landscapes lack the absorption and retention capabilities that soils, grasslands, forests, and other natural features offer. When it rains, water flows over impervious (i.e., paved) surfaces, collecting debris and contaminants and becoming polluted runoff commonly referred to as stormwater. To minimize impacts to water bodies, many cities have built combined sewer systems to collect and transport stormwater from multiple locations to the same centralized wastewater treatment plants as sewage. This allows the treatment plant to remove the oils, pesticides, bacteria, sediments, and other contaminants that stormwater contains. While a combined sewer system seems efficient, heavy storms, large snowmelt, and sometimes even light rain can exceed the capacity of these pipes, holding tanks, and treatment systems. The overburdened system discharges large amounts of untreated wastewater, including raw sewage, into waterways. In the United States, 40 million people are served by combined sewers, which discharge over 3 trillion liters of untreated sewage and stormwater runoff annually in combined sewer overflow events. ref

See this case study of work to centralize wastewater treatment on the island of Roatan, Honduras.

Centralized Treatment Systems Summary

  • Centralized systems increase the efficiency of treatment, consolidate the costs of maintenance, and minimize nonpoint source pollution
  • Shortcomings of centralized systems include significant initial investment, costly and technical upkeep, capacity limitations, susceptibility to leaks, vulnerability to weather, and inadequate removal of nutrients

 

Decentralized Treatment Systems

Decentralized wastewater treatment systems, or non-sewered sanitation systems, are small-scale, on-site systems for managing human waste.

A conventional septic system. Source: EPA 2018

A conventional septic system. Source: EPA 2018

Decentralized wastewater treatment systems collect, treat, and discharge wastewater effluent at the site where it is generated. Many types of onsite treatment systems exist. The following types are the most common globally:

  • Septic systems typically include a septic tank and a drain field. The tank is a buried, water-tight container usually made of concrete, fiberglass, or polyethylene. Organic matter is digested in the tank and the process separates floatable matter (e.g., oils and grease) and solids from the wastewater. The effluent is slowly discharged from the tank into a series of perforated pipes buried in a leach field, chambers, or other special units.
  • Drain fields, a part of a septic system, promote opportunities for additional treatment of effluent by microorganisms in soil, gravel or other materials before discharge into the ground or surface waters.
  • Cesspools have one containment and treatment step. Dug or built pits collect effluent for natural settling. The pits may be unlined or separated from soil and groundwater with a stone or concrete barrier. Cesspools do not provide adequate treatment, and are being replaced in many places by more effective treatment systems.
  • Container-based systems collect and store wastewater on site and require the waste to be transported elsewhere for treatment. These systems are predominantly found in areas with limited infrastructure and include pit latrines, which need to be emptied once they are full, and bucket toilets, which are emptied daily. Treatment of waste collected from container-based options can range from conventional treatment processes, new resource recovery practices, or no treatment at all.

The video below from The Nature Conservancy Long Island provides a more detailed explanation of septic and cesspool systems.

Conventional septic systems and cesspools are not designed to remove nutrients or other contaminants from effluent, which can pose hazardous threats to marine environments in coastal areas. Technologies have recently been developed to address nutrient removal in decentralized systems, but these new solutions have not been widely implemented due to a global lack of regulation on nutrients in wastewater effluent. Upgrading decentralized systems to include enhanced nutrient reduction is costly but has demonstrated greater cost efficiency than building new, large-scale wastewater treatment facilities. Learn more about these new technologies in the Emerging Management Solutions section of this toolkit. Other disadvantages of decentralized systems include leaks and malfunctions which can result in nonpoint source pollution and often goes undetected; and few consequences for noncompliance even when pollution sources are traced, which leaves little opportunity for enforcement.

Decentralized Treatment Systems Summary

  • Decentralized treatments are individualized, operating at smaller scales and serving a range of population densities
  • Shortcomings of decentralized systems include frequent mismanagement or oversight leading to noncompliance, inadequate removal of nutrients and emerging contaminants, and no treatment of stormwater

Discharge

Discharge from an outfall pipe. Photo © pixabay

After treatment from either centralized or decentralized systems, treated effluent is discharged directly to nearby water bodies or into the ground. The types of treatment applied to the wastewater and location of the discharge affect to what degree wastewater effluent pollutes the ocean. Outfall pipes discharge effluent directly into rivers and oceans. Alternatively, drain fields, soils, wetlands, and vegetation slow percolation of effluent into groundwaters, which helps to remove pollutants. This has led to the development of advanced nutrient reduction techniques and Nature-based Solutions to slow the flow of effluent. The case study from Santiago in the Dominican Republic demonstrates great success in using constructed wetlands to reduce the organic pollutants discharged to the watershed. See the Emerging Management Solutions section for more information about innovative nutrient reduction techniques and Nature-based Solutions.

Discharging inadequately treated wastewater increases hazardous risks for people, animals, and ecosystems. It is relatively easy to determine if a coastal large-scale treatment plant is discharging treated or raw effluent directly into the ocean. It is more difficult to detect leaching from smaller containment systems and groundwater discharge. See the case study from Dar es Salaam, Tanzania, East Africa for an example of how to combat the issue of pit latrine contents being dumped into the environment.

How to Select a Wastewater Management System

There are a variety of ways to manage wastewater. Selecting a wastewater treatment method is highly location and context specific. Many factors dictate which type of system is more appropriate: a sewered, centralized treatment system or an onsite, decentralized treatment system. The best solution for one community may not work for another. Considerations for selecting a wastewater management system should include:

  • Community resources
  • Population size
  • Social and cultural norms and expectations
  • Political support or regulatory constraints
  • Local geology and hydrology
  • Pollution reduction goals
  • Existing infrastructure

When determining the most suitable sanitation system or technology for your site and context, marine managers can consult decision support tools that account for social, human health, and environmental criteria. Examples include the Sustainable Sanitation and Water Management Toolbox which helps highlight different sanitation options based on selected inputs or outputs ref and this flow diagram from WaterAid, which maps the flow of excrement from source to sea highlighting areas where management actions are working well and areas where improvement is needed.

pporno youjizz xmxx teacher xxx Sex
Translate »