多樣化生計

伯利茲 Laughing Bird Caye 的旅遊船。 照片©本尼迪克特金

了解當地旅遊部門並確定多樣化生計的機會

由 COVID-19 大流行引起的旅遊業停頓已使全球大多數地區的旅遊業遭受重創。 雖然政府的支持和國內旅遊業在一些地方減輕了打擊,但旅遊業的複蘇對於一些社區的經濟復甦勢在必行。 然而,隨著這次旅遊暫停,也有機會解決依賴珊瑚礁旅游來維持人們的生計和安全的問題,並在同時支持保護的地點探索其他潛在的收入收入。 通過這樣做,可以在 COVID-19 大流行之後建立更具彈性的旅遊經濟,更好地應對未來的環境、社會、政治、健康相關、技術或經濟危機。 “如果系統具有彈性,則意味著它不僅能夠克服危機和災難,而且能夠更好地適應整體變化”(Prayag 2018)。

2021 年解決方案交流研究了來自世界各地的幾個案例研究,以及在彈性珊瑚礁倡議地點實現生計多樣化的機會。

關鍵要點

  • 政策制定者應考慮改善原住民社區獲得旅遊工作和商業機會的機會,他們帶來了重要的觀點,但他們面臨著一系列進入障礙,例如保險或資產成本。
  • COVID-19 為當地企業家創造了有利條件. 這是一個令人難以置信的自然實驗,在一些地區釋放了當地的企業家精神,從巴厘島轉向再生農業到伯利茲新興的微型工業開發天然產品。
  • “社區需要舉手而不是施捨”. 社區旅遊的核心組成部分包括由社區自己擁有、領導和經營的業務。 這賦予社區權力,為個人和家庭(而不是大公司)帶來收入,並提高能力並發展新技能。
  • 創造減少或消除自然資源壓力的機會。 而不是僅僅從一種珊瑚礁旅遊轉向另一種珊瑚礁旅遊——這些生計都依賴於相同的自然資源,因此同樣容易受到同樣的衝擊——應該努力開發新的生計和收入機會,真正獨立於珊瑚礁資產,更具可持續性。
  • 專注於對環境影響最小、對用戶價值高的旅遊活動. 完全擺脫對珊瑚礁的依賴可能是不可能的。 減輕系統壓力的一種潛在方法是分析不同珊瑚礁旅遊活動的影響和盈利能力,重點關注低影響、高價值的選擇。 為減輕珊瑚礁壓力的旅遊體驗增加價值是另一種選擇。
  • 公共和私營部門夥伴關係至關重要. 它們可以幫助評估、識別和推動在多樣化生計選擇方面的創新機會。

聚焦伯利茲

我們如何才能使當地生計多樣化並減少對自然資源的壓力?

Mar Coast 伯利茲 Alamina

照片©馬庫斯·阿拉米納

伯利茲堡礁於 1996 年獲得聯合國教科文組織世界遺產名錄,全長 300 公里,是被稱為中美洲堡礁系統的 900 公里長系統的一部分。 其珊瑚礁和紅樹林每年的旅遊業價值為 150 至 190 億美元,漁業價值為每年 14 至 16 萬美元,海岸線保護效益為每年 231 至 347 億美元( 在新窗口中打開庫珀等人。 2008年打開PDF文件 ).

伯利茲利益相關者希望創造機會來消除對自然資源的壓力。 COVID-19 重創了伯利茲的旅遊業,最初使國家經濟活動陷入停滯,突顯出需要努力實現收入多元化。 許多依靠旅遊業收入的人返回了自給捕魚。 旅遊業的停頓也激發了當地的創業精神,尤其是在當地婦女中。 基於伯利茲的產品的創建催生了新一波小企業和利用在線平台補充創收的浪潮。

此外,伯利茲堡礁系統的珊瑚礁管理者已經認識到旅遊業的暫停是重新定義可持續旅游標準以及重新評估大量訪問海洋區域的承載能力的機會。

我們如何確保不依賴原始資源基礎的多樣化生計選擇的可持續性? 這種行為改變需要考慮什麼? 我們的研究表明,最成功的選擇是圍繞同一資源基礎(一種已經被認為是脆弱的資源)實現多樣化的生計。 – 藍色經濟部 Safira Vasquez

演講

觀看解決方案交換專家的英語或法語演示,了解更多信息:

再生農業:新的旅遊機會——斯蒂芬·博克斯,海洋生態學家

 

通過旅遊振興社區——傑米·斯威廷,Planterra

 

尋找幫助土著企業蓬勃發展的方法——Henrietta Marrie,澳大利亞土著領袖

Une Agriculture qui se renouvelle: de nouvelles opportunités Touristiques – 海洋生態學家 Stephen Box

 

Des communautés plus fortes grâce au Touriste – Jamie Sweeting, Planeterra

 

Trouver des moyens d'aider les entreprises des population autochtones à prospérer – Henrietta Marrie,澳大利亞土著領袖

推進可持續旅遊戰略

解決方案交流旨在激發思維,將彈性珊瑚礁倡議管理人員和合作夥伴聚集在一起進行知識交流和學習,並幫助促進實地行動。 雖然沒有概述生計多樣化的具體後續步驟,但討論了開發可持續旅遊框架的更具包容性的方法。 確定下一步: 

為珊瑚礁社區製定可持續旅遊戰略框架.

解決方案交流探討了可持續旅遊戰略的各個組成部分——提供了一系列不同工具和技術的示例。 下一步可能是整合這些組件並為珊瑚礁社區製定可持續的旅遊戰略框架,目前尚不存在。 需要與站點和合作夥伴進一步協商,以更好地了解此類框架的需求和目標受眾。

以旅遊為基礎的珊瑚礁修復

珊瑚礁康復標誌大自然保護協會的加勒比分部與 Booking Cares Fund 合作,開發了 REEFHabilitation 經驗,以通過可持續旅遊促進成功的珊瑚礁恢復。 REEFhabilitation 體驗為遊客提供了一次動手學習冒險,以積極參與珊瑚修復,並正在與 Fundemar 和 Grupo Puntacana 基金會在多米尼加共和國進行試點。 支持這種旅遊體驗的所有材料都可供希望使用恢復最佳實踐啟動可持續旅遊經營的珊瑚礁恢復項目的其他人公開獲得。

REEFHabilitation 體驗指導指南 在新窗口中打開英語打開PDF文件 在新窗口中打開西班牙語打開PDF文件
珊瑚礁康復 在新窗口中打開宣傳冊子打開PDF文件
視頻輸入 在新窗口中打開英語, 在新窗口中打開西班牙語 在新窗口中打開意大利
旅游水下數據表 在新窗口中打開苗圃打開PDF文件 , 在新窗口中打開出圃打開PDF文件 在新窗口中打開恢復打開PDF文件 監控

 
GBRF 2此內容是合作開發的
與大堡礁基金會合作。

 

por youjizz xxx 老師xxx 性別
Translate »

Diversifying Livelihoods

Tourism vessels at Laughing Bird Caye, Belize. Photo © Benedict Kim

Understanding the Local Tourism Sector and Identifying Opportunities for Diversifying Livelihoods

The pause on tourism caused by the COVID-19 pandemic has decimated the industry in most locations around the world. While government support and domestic tourism has softened the blow in some locations, the revival of the tourism sector is imperative for the economic recovery of some communities. However, with this tourism pause, there is also opportunity to address the issue of reliance on reef tourism for people’s livelihoods and security, and to explore other potential income revenues at sites that simultaneously support conservation. By doing this, a more resilient tourism economy can be built post COVID-19 pandemic that is better prepared to deal with environmental, societal, political, health-related, technological, or economic crises in the future. “If the system is resilient, it is implicit that it has the ability not only to overcome crises and disasters but to better adapt to change overall” (Prayag 2018).

The 2021 Solution Exchange examined several case studies from around the world and opportunities for diversifying livelihoods at Resilient Reefs Initiative sites.

Key Takeaways

  • Policy makers should consider opportunities to improve access to tourism jobs and businesses for First Nations communities, who bring an essential perspective but who face a range of barriers to entry such as the cost of insurance or assets.
  • COVID-19 created enabling conditions for local entrepreneurs. It was an incredible natural experiment in unlocking local entrepreneurship in some regions, from a shift to regenerative agriculture in Bali to burgeoning micro-industries developing natural products in Belize.
  • “Communities need a hand up not a hand-out”. Core components of community tourism include operations that are owned, led, and run by communities themselves. This empowers communities, bringing income to individuals and families (instead of large corporations), and increases capacity and develops new skills.
  • Create opportunities that reduce or remove pressure on natural resources. Rather than just shifting from one kind of reef tourism to another kind of reef tourism—those livelihoods are both dependent on the same natural resource and therefore equally vulnerable to the same kinds of shocks—efforts should be made to develop new livelihood and income opportunities that are truly independent from reef assets and more sustainable.
  • Focus on tourism activities that have minimal impact to the environment and high value to the user. It may not be possible to completely shift away from a dependence on reefs for livelihoods. One potential way to reduce pressure on the system is to analyze the impact and profitability of different reef tourism activities with a focus on low impact, high value options. Adding value to a tourist experience that takes pressure off the reef is another option.
  • Public and private sector partnerships are critical. They can help assess, identify, and drive new opportunities for innovation in diversifying livelihood options.

Spotlight on Belize

How can we diversify local livelihoods and reduce pressures on natural resources?

Mar Coast Belize Alamina

Photo © Marcus Alamina

The Belize Barrier Reef, which gained UNESCO World Heritage listing in 1996, is 300 km long and is part of a 900 km long system known as the Mesoamerican Barrier Reef System. Its coral reefs and mangroves have been valued at US$150-$190 million per year in tourism, US$14-$16 million per year in fisheries and US$231-$347 million per year in shoreline protection benefits ( opens in a new windowCooper et al. 2008opens PDF file ).

Belize stakeholders would like to create opportunities that remove pressure on natural resources. COVID-19 decimated the tourism industry in Belize, initially rendering the national economic activity at a standstill, highlighting the need for income diversification efforts. Many who relied on income from tourism returned to subsistence fishing. The pause in tourism has also unlocked local entrepreneurship especially among local women. The creation of Belize-based products has given birth to a new wave of small businesses and the utilization of online platforms to supplement income generation.

Additionally, reef managers of the Belize Barrier Reef System have recognized this pause in tourism as an opportunity to redefine sustainable tourism standards as well as reevaluate carrying capacities of heavily visited marine areas.

How can we ensure sustainability of a diversified livelihood option that does not rely on the original resource base? What needs to be considered for this type of behavioral change? Our research shows that the most successful options are when the livelihood is diversified around the same resource base (a resource that is already considered to be vulnerable). – Safira Vasquez, Ministry of Blue Economy

Presentations

Watch the presentations by Solution Exchange experts in English or French to learn more:

Regenerative Agriculture: New Tourism Opportunities – Stephen Box, Marine Ecologist

 

Uplifting Communities through Tourism – Jamie Sweeting, Planeterra

 

Finding Ways to Help Indigenous Businesses Flourish – Henrietta Marrie, Aboriginal Australian Leader

Une agriculture qui se renouvelle: de nouvelles opportunités touristiques – Stephen Box, Marine Ecologist

 

Des communautés plus fortes grâce au tourisme – Jamie Sweeting, Planeterra

 

Trouver des moyens d'aider les entreprises des populations autochtones à prospérer – Henrietta Marrie, Aboriginal Australian Leader

Advancing Sustainable Tourism Strategies

The Solution Exchange was intended to inspire thinking, bring together the Resilient Reefs Initiative managers and partners for knowledge exchange and learning, and help catalyze action on the ground. While no specific next steps for diversification of livelihoods were outlined, a more encompassing approach to develop a sustainable tourism framework was discussed. Identified next step: 

Develop a sustainable tourism strategy framework for reef communities.

The Solution Exchange explored various components of sustainable tourism strategies—providing examples of a range of different tools and techniques. A potential next step is to integrate these components and develop a sustainable tourism strategy framework for reef communities, something that does not currently exist. Further consultation with sites and partners is required to better understand both the demand and target audience for this kind of framework.

Tourism-based Coral Reef Restoration

REEFhabilitation LogoThe Nature Conservancy’s Caribbean Division, in partnership with the Booking Cares Fund, has developed the REEFHabilitation experience to promote successful coral reef restoration through sustainable tourism. The REEFhabilitation experience provides a hands-on learning adventure for tourists to actively participate in coral restoration, and is being piloted in the Dominican Republic with Fundemar and Grupo Puntacana Foundation. All materials to support this tourism experience are publicly available for others who wish to start sustainable tourism-operated coral reef restoration projects using restoration best practices.

REEFHabilitation Experience Instructional Guide in opens in a new windowEnglishopens PDF file and opens in a new windowSpanishopens PDF file
REEFHabilitation opens in a new windowBrochureopens PDF file
Video in opens in a new windowEnglish, opens in a new windowSpanish, and opens in a new windowItalian
Tourism Underwater Datasheets for opens in a new windowNurseryopens PDF file , opens in a new windowOutplantingopens PDF file , and opens in a new windowRestorationopens PDF file monitoring

 
GBRF 2This content was developed in collaboration
with Great Barrier Reef Foundation.

 

pporno youjizz xmxx teacher xxx Sex
Translate »