修復介紹

Staghorn珊瑚在甘蔗灣,聖克羅伊。 照片©Kemit-Amon Lewis / TNC

珊瑚礁利益相關者和管理者可能希望考慮恢復,以幫助恢復受損或退化的珊瑚礁地點或與珊瑚礁相關的棲息地。 生態恢復協會將生態恢復定義為“協助恢復已退化、受損或破壞的生態系統的過程”。 文獻

過去,恢復的目標是將生態系統恢復到歷史基線。 這種觀點還暗示可以消除造成退化、損壞或破壞的威脅。 然而,這可能不適用於所有珊瑚礁,因為即使達到溫室氣體排放目標,海洋溫度上升的威脅仍將持續數十年。 因此,珊瑚礁恢復的目標已轉向在未來幾十年的氣候變化中加強珊瑚礁恢復並維持關鍵的生態系統過程、功能和服務。

在幹龜國家公園種植鹿角珊瑚。

在乾燥Tortugas國家公園的Outanting staghorn珊瑚。 照片©Carlton Ward

還原的作用是什麼?

立即採取積極行動應對氣候變化,雖然絕對至關重要,但只是確保珊瑚礁及其提供的生態和經濟服務的未來的更大方程式的一部分。 恢復越來越多地被認為是一種方法,可以促進珊瑚礁生態系統從乾擾中恢復,減輕珊瑚礁退化,並為未來氣候變化條件下支持珊瑚礁生態系統提供橋樑。

恢復需要成為用於支持棲息地的一系列活動的一部分,從減少當地威脅到完全恢復生態系統功能。 干預可以被認為是:

  • 主動 (也稱為“被動”干預)當他們的目標是鼓勵自然恢復過程時。 主動干預的例子包括海洋保護區和水質管理。
  • 無功 (也稱為“主動”干預)當他們的目標是直接幫助恢復珊瑚礁功能和/或種群時,如果他們不能自然恢復。 反應性干預的例子包括珊瑚繁殖和移栽、藻類去除或基質添加。
康復中心

照片©NOAA修復中心

干預類型

珊瑚礁恢復方法最初是從陸地生態系統中使用的方法發展而來的。 例如,1990 年代發展起來的“珊瑚園藝”概念將造林原則應用於珊瑚碎片的海水養殖。 文獻 其他方法源於影響珊瑚礁基質結構完整性的干擾後的應急響應干預,例如船舶擱淺或極端天氣事件。 文獻

最近,科學家和環保主義者開始專注於開發能夠在氣候變化面前支持珊瑚礁恢復力的技術; 然而,許多此類干預措施仍處於研究和開發階段。

在新窗口中打開目前用作管理策略或處於研發各個階段的珊瑚礁恢復干預措施概述 Hein 等人。 2020打開PDF文件

目前用作管理策略或處於研究和開發各個階段的珊瑚礁恢復干預措施概述。 資料來源:Hein 等人。 2020

por youjizz xxx 老師xxx 性別
Translate »

Restoration Introduction

Staghorn Corals in Cane Bay, St. Croix. Photo © Kemit-Amon Lewis/TNC

Coral reef stakeholders and managers may wish to consider restoration to assist in the recovery of damaged or degraded coral reef sites or reef-associated habitats. Ecological restoration is defined by the Society of Ecological Restoration as “the process of assisting the recovery of an ecosystem that has been degraded, damaged, or destroyed." ref

In the past, the goal of restoration has been to restore an ecosystem back to a historical baseline. This view also implied that the threat(s) responsible for the degradation, damage, or destruction could be removed. However, this may not be possible for all coral reefs because the threat of rising ocean temperatures will continue for decades even if greenhouse gas emission targets are met. The goal of coral reef restoration has therefore shifted towards enhancing coral reef recovery and maintaining key ecosystem processes, functions, and services through the next few decades of climate change.

Outplanting staghorn coral in Dry Tortugas National Park.

Outplanting staghorn coral in Dry Tortugas National Park. Photo © Carlton Ward

What is the role of restoration?

Immediate and aggressive action to address climate change, while absolutely critical, is only part of the larger equation to ensuring a future for coral reefs and the ecological and economic services they provide. Restoration is increasingly being embraced as a method to enhance recovery of reef ecosystems to disturbances, mitigate reef degradation, and provide a bridge to support coral reef ecosystems through future climate change conditions.

Restoration needs to be part of a continuum of activities used to support habitats, from reducing local threats to fully recovering ecosystem function. Interventions can be thought of as:

  • Proactive (also called “passive” interventions) when their goal is to encourage natural recovery processes. Examples of proactive interventions include marine protected areas and water quality management.
  • Reactive (also called “active” interventions) when their goal is to directly assist the recovery of reef function and/or populations, should they not be able to recover naturally. Examples of reactive interventions include coral propagation and outplanting, algal removal, or substrate addition.
Restoration Center

Photo © NOAA Restoration Center

Types of Interventions

Coral reef restoration methods were initially developed from methods used in terrestrial ecosystems. For example, the concept of ‘coral gardening’ developed in the 1990s adapted silviculture principles to the mariculture of coral fragments. ref Other methods stemmed from emergency response interventions following disturbances that affected the structural integrity of the reef substrate, such as ship groundings or extreme weather events. ref

More recently, scientists and conservationists have begun to focus on developing techniques that can support coral reef resilience in the face of climate change; however, many of these types of interventions are still in the research and development phase.

opens in a new windowOverview of coral reef restoration interventions currently used as management strategies or at various stages of research and development Hein et al. 2020opens PDF file

Overview of coral reef restoration interventions currently used as management strategies or at various stages of research and development. Source: Hein et al. 2020

pporno youjizz xmxx teacher xxx Sex
Translate »