基於幼蟲的珊瑚繁殖

Staghorn珊瑚在甘蔗灣,聖克羅伊。 照片©Kemit-Amon Lewis / TNC

成功繁殖和招募具有不同特徵的新珊瑚對於恢復珊瑚種群至關重要。 如果珊瑚種群數量較少,即使採取了其他管理措施,有限的招募也會顯著抑制珊瑚礁的恢復。 本節介紹通過利用有性繁殖過程的幼蟲繁殖方法恢復珊瑚種群所涉及的步驟。

儘管每年只發生幾次大規模的珊瑚產卵,但這些事件可以提供數百萬隻小珊瑚——每一個都代表一個新的遺傳個體。 利用幼蟲繁殖進行珊瑚修復的最重要好處是能夠:

  • 通過增加珊瑚外植體的數量來顯著擴大恢復工作
  • 與多種珊瑚物種合作,包括分枝珊瑚和巨石珊瑚
  • 增加珊瑚礁上珊瑚的遺傳多樣性,使它們能夠適應不斷變化的環境條件

收集鹿角珊瑚珊瑚配子。 照片©Barry Brown / SECORE International

幼蟲繁殖步驟

收集Spawn

從野外收集產卵最適合通過廣播產卵繁殖的珊瑚。 因此,應該在開始收集之前確定當地珊瑚種群及其生殖生物學的知識。 在收集之前確定您將從哪種幼蟲中獲得幼體將有助於確保獲得更高的成功率,因為這將使您能夠確定大規模產卵事件的發生時間。

有關預測珊瑚產卵的提示可以在  在新窗口中打開加勒比珊瑚產卵網絡研討會 和以下由珊瑚恢復聯盟開發的預測圖表  在新窗口中打開幼蟲繁殖工作組.

受精

在受精步驟中,從不同親本菌落收集的珊瑚配子被組合併輕輕攪動以促進相遇。 珊瑚配子在產卵後數小時內仍可存活。 因此,至關重要的是,幼蟲繁殖的受精階段應在可行的情況下盡快發生,其中來自不同親本的配子結合在一起。 除了時間,配子的濃度是另一個需要考慮的重要因素。

觀看 SECORE International 的視頻: SECORE - 當精子遇見卵子時

飼養幼蟲

使用解剖顯微鏡在受精後大約四個小時可以看到早期胚胎。 經過幾天的發育,珊瑚胚胎形成自由游動的幼蟲。 有多種方法可用於在發育階段培養和飼養珊瑚幼蟲,直到它們能夠定居。 如果您從高受精率開始,這些方法中的任何一種都會更成功。 通常,策略是將幼蟲保持在適當溫度和水質的環境中。

發育速度以及幼蟲準備定居的時間將取決於珊瑚種類和溫度,因為隨著水溫升高,幼蟲發育得更快。 因此,建議在此階段進行定期監測。

觀看 SECORE International 的視頻: SECORE視頻 - 關島大學的珊瑚幼蟲飼養場

沉降

珊瑚幼蟲在開闊的海洋環境中游泳後,需要在珊瑚礁上尋找合適的基質來定居並經歷變態成為初級息肉。 珊瑚幼蟲使用無數複雜的線索,包括光、聲音、表面紋理和化學物質來選擇它們將在珊瑚礁上定居和生活的地方。 

對於使用幼蟲繁殖的恢復,鼓勵培養的幼蟲定居通常通過兩種方式進行:直接在珊瑚礁上或在稍後將被移出的人造基質上。 

移栽定居的珊瑚

新定居珊瑚的最終目標是為珊瑚礁生態系統做出貢獻並促進珊瑚種群的恢復。 這涉及將這些新珊瑚移植到珊瑚礁上。 如果定居在人造基質上,則在受保護的環境(例如田間或陸上苗圃)中短時間生長後進行移栽。

觀看 SECORE International 的視頻: SECORE視頻 - 重新種植珊瑚礁

在移栽之前,用已經保存在海洋苗圃中的珊瑚新兵檢查播種單元。 照片© SECORE International Reef Patrol

在移栽之前,用已經保存在海洋苗圃中的珊瑚新兵檢查播種單元。 照片© SECORE International/Reef Patrol

Secore_Logo_RGB

此內容由SECORE International開發。 欲了解更多信息,請聯繫  在新窗口中打開info@secore.org創建新電子郵件 或訪問他們的網站  在新窗口中打開secore.org.

珊瑚礁修復在線課程

有關更多信息,請瀏覽第 4 課:基於幼蟲的珊瑚繁殖。

por youjizz xxx 老師xxx 性別
Translate »

Larval-based Coral Propagation

Staghorn Corals in Cane Bay, St. Croix. Photo © Kemit-Amon Lewis/TNC

Successful reproduction and recruitment of new corals with diverse traits are essential for restoring coral populations. If coral populations are low, limited recruitment can significantly inhibit coral reef recovery even with other management actions in place. This section describes the steps involved with restoring coral populations through larval propagation methods utilizing the sexual reproduction process.

Although mass coral spawning occurs only a few times per year, these events can provide millions of baby corals — each of which represents a new genetic individual. The most important benefits of utilizing larval propagation for coral restoration is the ability to:

  • Dramatically scale up restoration efforts by increasing the number of coral outplants
  • Work with a diversity of coral species, including branching and boulder corals
  • Increase the genetic diversity of corals on reefs, allowing them to adapt to changing environmental conditions

Collecting coral gametes from Acropora corals. Photo © Barry Brown/SECORE International

Steps of Larval Propagation

Collecting Spawn

Collecting spawn from the field is most appropriate for corals that reproduce through broadcast spawning. Thus, knowledge of local coral populations and their reproductive biology should be determined before collections begin. Identifying which coral species you will obtain larvae from prior to collections will help ensure higher success because it will allow you to determine the timing of mass spawning events.

Tips on predicting coral spawning can be found on the  opens in a new windowCaribbean Coral Spawning Webinar and prediction charts below developed by the Coral Restoration Consortium's  opens in a new windowLarval Propagation Working Group.

Fertilization

In the fertilization step, coral gametes collected from different parent colonies are combined and gently agitated to promote encounters. Coral gametes are viable for several hours after spawning occurs. Thus, it is critical that the fertilization phase of larval propagation occurs as soon as is feasible, where gametes from different parents are combined. In addition to timing, concentration of the gametes is another important factor to consider.

Watch the video from SECORE International: SECORE – When Sperm Meet Egg

Rearing Larvae

Early-stage embryos are visible approximately four hours after fertilization using a dissecting microscope. After a few days of development, coral embryos form free-swimming larvae. There are various methods that can be used to culture and rear coral larvae through the development phase until they are competent to settle. Any of these methods will be more successful if you begin with high fertilization rates. Generally, the strategy is to keep the larvae in an environment of appropriate temperature and water quality.

The rate of development, and hence the time until the larvae are ready to settle, will depend both on the coral species and on the temperature, as larvae develop faster with warmer water temperatures. Thus, regular monitoring is recommended during this phase.

Watch the video from SECORE International: SECORE Video – Coral Larvae Rearing Set-up at University of Guam

Settlement

After swimming in the open ocean environment, coral larvae need to find a suitable substrate on coral reefs to settle and undergo metamorphosis to become a primary polyp. Coral larvae use myriad complex cues including light, sound, surface texture, and chemicals to choose where on the reef they will settle and live. 

For restoration using larval propagation, encouraging settlement of cultured larvae is commonly done in two ways: directly onto the reef or onto artificial substrates that will later be outplanted. 

Outplanting Settled Corals

The end goal for newly settled corals is for them to contribute to the reef ecosystem and promote coral population recovery. This involves outplanting these new corals to a reef. If settled onto artificial substrates, outplanting is done after a short period of growth in a protected environment, such as a field-based or land-based nursery.

Watch the video from SECORE International: SECORE Video – Reseeding the Reef

Checking seeding units with coral recruits that have been kept in an ocean based nursery before outplanting. Photo © SECORE International Reef Patrol

Checking seeding units with coral recruits that have been kept in an ocean based nursery before outplanting. Photo © SECORE International/Reef Patrol

Secore_Logo_RGB

This content was developed with SECORE International. For more information, contact  opens in a new windowinfo@secore.orgcreate new email or visit their website at  opens in a new windowsecore.org.

Coral Reef Restoration Online Course

For more information, explore Lesson 4: Larval-based Coral Propagation.

pporno youjizz xmxx teacher xxx Sex
Translate »