水質監測

水下污水管。照片 © Grafner/iStock

為了了解廢水污染是否影響特定環境或確定問題的來源和範圍,管理人員建立基線條件並製定監測計劃非常重要。 即使是最小的抽樣項目也受益於仔細規劃以識別問題、定義明確的方法和質量保證步驟,並考慮數據處理和溝通計劃。

水質計劃的關鍵階段是:

  1. 定義問題。您希望確定哪些潛在的廢水影響?已有哪些數據,例如有關廢水基礎設施的特定地點資訊?
  2. 使用盡可能納入專家意見的流程進行有針對性的水質監測(例如,要監測哪些地點、要注意哪些指標、如何收集資料)。
  3. 開發並實施高級研究以幫助追蹤污染源。
  4. 分析和總結數據,以便與合作夥伴、決策者和任何其他重要利害關係人溝通,同時記住哪些數據對受眾有吸引力。
  5. 使用這些信息來指導規劃過程或管理行動。

註冊我們的免費、自定進度 廢水污染在線課程 了解更多關於這些關鍵階段的信息。

 

為了檢測與廢水相關的水質變化,珊瑚礁管理者應考慮測量以下指標:

氮和磷是植物和動物必需的營養素,是常見的營養素指標。 氮的來源包括廢水處理廠排放、施肥草坪和農田、污水池和失效化糞池系統的徑流、動物糞便和儲存區的徑流以及含有緩蝕劑的工業排放。 氮和磷的常見測量包括:總氮(樣品中發現的所有有機和無機、溶解和顆粒形式的氮)、氨、硝酸鹽、亞硝酸鹽和總磷(所有形式的磷)。

最後,矽酸鹽是一種重要的化學指標,是地下水的標誌。 高矽酸鹽表明是淡水來源。 矽酸鹽通常與硝酸鹽和磷酸鹽一起在實驗室測量。 這些指標可以通過自動分析儀或實驗室設施測量,價格約為 50 美元/樣品。

使用折射計可以廉價地測量鹽度,並使用便攜式傳感器測量溫度。 在確定進行長期監測的地點時,鹽度可能特別有用。

溶解氧 (DO) 是評估水質的重要參數,因為它對海洋生物有影響。

低溶解氧可能表示存在大量消耗氧氣的浮游植物或細菌。 DO 使用經過校準的多參數水質計或探頭(成本約為 1,000-15,000 美元)進行測量。

濁度 - 可能受浮游植物影響的水透明度的關鍵測試 - 通常使用 Secchi 圓盤進行評估,以測量陽光穿透的深度。

其他便攜式數字方法,例如電導率計和濁度計,可增強實時收集數據的能力,但需要維護和校準。

來自人類排泄物的糞便指示菌 (FIB),例如 E. 大腸桿菌, 腸球菌, 或者 產氣莢膜梭菌 可用於識別廢水。 已經開發了簡單的現場測試來測試水中的 FIB。 一個例子是在 坦桑尼亞農村案例 在那里為 433 戶家庭提供了硫化氫測試,使他們能夠監測自己的水源並就水安全和處理做出明智的選擇。 不幸的是,對於海洋管理人員來說,沿海地區的細菌濃度通常太低,無法進行此類現場測試,並且需要實驗室分析來檢測它們。

另一種選擇是收集水樣本並使用衛星實驗室(約 3,000 美元)或傳統實驗室和培養方法進行 FIB 測試,例如 Surfrider 使用的 Enterolert 測試 (IDEXX),每個樣本的成本約為 11 美元。

葉綠素 a 是在包括浮游植物藻類在內的所有植物中發現的主要綠色光合色素,也是浮游初級生產者的代表。葉綠素濃度 a 珊瑚礁水域中的浮游植物是浮游植物豐度和生物量的指標,浮游植物是大多數海洋動物的直接或間接食物來源。葉綠素低 a 水平表明良好的水條件。 然而,高水平的長期持續存在是一個問題,所以葉綠素 a 應至少每月監測一次,以量化浮游植物生物量的季節性變化。 葉綠素 a 可以使用過濾和實驗室設備進行測量,如果送到實驗室,成本約為 20 美元/樣品。

如果收集多年,這些數據可以識別模式和主要變化。管理人員可以利用這些資訊開始將水質數據/模式與珊瑚健康模式和珊瑚覆蓋百分比相關聯。這些指標也相對具有成本效益。有一些現場測試可以使用便攜式套件或相對便宜(<1,000 美元)的手持設備來執行。這些現場測試需要少量水樣,並在幾分鐘內提供結果。對於時間或預算有限的管理者來說,可以使用這些方法來實施監控計畫。管理人員可能會考慮這些方法的檢測極限是多少,以及它們是否適合他們的地區。例如,在清澈的海水中,可能很難取得葉綠素 a 信號或使用 Secchi 盤。

檢測水質變化的測試:

指示符測試方法/材料
葉綠素a葉綠素計
DO(溶解氧)傳感器測量或熱​​量計
總溶解固體 (TDS) 或濁度Secchi 盤、濁度計或傳感器

重要的是要承認這些指標不會直接表明廢水污染,因為其他來源或因素可能會導致水平變化。例如,營養物質可能來自農業或發展,糞便指示細菌也可能來自動物或土壤。

追蹤污染源

識別海洋中是否存在廢水非常困難,需要透過多種測試來識別廢水中常見的不同污染物。更複雜的測試可以測量氮同位素和人類來源的污染物,例如藥物和有機廢物化合物,例如洗滌劑代謝物或食品添加劑,可以幫助確認廢水及其來源。

有些測試可以提供更具體的測量結果,並識別與廢水更常見的污染物,但它們的運作成本通常很高,因為它們需要專門的、昂貴的機器和訓練有素的技術人員。

追蹤污染源的測試:

指示符測試方法
咖啡因質譜
DNA錶款系列實驗室測試(eDNA qPCR 或熒光定量)
製藥ELISA,生物測定
內分泌干擾物(例如雌激素)質譜、生物測定(魚或組織培養物的暴露)
細菌(大腸桿菌、糞腸球菌、產氣莢膜梭菌)通過異養平板計數、微陣列或 qPCR 進行定量測量
金屬質譜
氮同位素質譜
甾醇質譜
三氯蔗糖質譜

水樣是在現場採集的,通常需要大量的水樣,必須將其濃縮才能進行分析。 如果附近沒有實驗室,可以運送樣品,但溫度、時間和成本都是限制。 建議管理人員與當地大學建立合作或夥伴關係,這些大學通常很高興讓學生研究現實生活中的問題,並且可以通過贈款資助抵消樣本分析和數據分析的成本。 每個水質指標都有助於我們了解水中的污染物。 匯總多個指標的測量結果的監測和分析策略,結合排放地點的繪圖,可以更準確地確定廢水污染類型和來源。

有關更詳細的水質監測方法,請參閱參考資料部分。

 

監測計劃範例

  • 夏威夷毛伊島的 Hui O Ka Wai Ola 是一項水質採樣計劃,其使命是透過科學和宣傳加深對毛伊島沿海水質的了解,以加速積極的改變。
  • 志工使用夏威夷州衛生部批准的標準化 EPA 方法收集水樣,以追蹤濁度和硝酸鹽。樣本和數據由志願公民科學家收集,用於圍繞水質標準和管理計劃做出決策。
  • 來自現場採樣工作的數據被整合到一個資料庫中,支援持續監測,用於分析、追蹤污染事件並識別水質和珊瑚礁隨時間的變化趨勢。
  • Surfrider Bluewater 特別工作小組計畫的目標是提高人們對當地污染問題的認識,並召集社區共同實施解決方案。
  • 它包括 50 個分會運行的實驗室和志願者,他們在夏威夷、佛羅裡達和波多黎各等衝浪海灘測試水質。
  • 水測試測量糞便指示菌(腸球菌,與測試濁度和硝酸鹽的毛伊島計劃不同)並測試不同的污染源(排水管等),然後與EPA 制定的水質標準進行比較,以得出水質標準。保護休閒水域的公眾健康。

監測計劃數據

需要創新且具成本效益的測量和報告工具來幫助海洋管理者以資源密集程度較低的方式發現廢水污染問題和來源。包括可視化和建模、遙感和空間影像在內的數據補充了廢水污染監測工作,並有助於為管理行動提供資訊。使用本地資料創建的模型對於預測水質特別有用。

其他工具收集有關藻華、珊瑚白化事件、海面波動和富營養化潛力的全球數據,這些數據具有本地應用和相關性。公開資料可以與當地地理資料(例如廢水處理廠的位置)結合,以了解污染源。管理人員還可以將這些數據與現場和實驗室測試結合起來,以了解基線條件、確定監測測試的優先順序並確定數據差距,以更好地量化水質隨時間的變化。這些線上資料平台/視覺化工具的範例包括:

  • 海洋引爆點,它在互動式地圖中提供了可量化的水質測量值(例如氮和磷水平)以及觀察到的珊瑚礁狀況。該工具提供夏威夷群島的資料集,並支援保護珊瑚礁生態系統的管理行動。它還包括使用 InVEST NDR 模型創建的營養層,該模型廣泛關注氮和磷源。
  • 艾倫珊瑚圖集,它利用高解析度衛星圖像和先進的分析技術以前所未有的細節繪製世界珊瑚礁地圖。添加了新的濁度層,這可能有助於水質監測。這些產品支持全球珊瑚礁科學、管理、保護和政策。

監測如何為廢水法規提供資訊

法規可以幫助減輕廢水污染,例如透過提供污染閾值資料。然後可以實施制定地方法規,防止廢水污染物達到閾值。透過確定污染閾值,社區可以更好地確定何時應採取具體應對措施,例如關閉海灘進行娛樂或發布煮水建議。然而,監管不一致可能給廢水管理者帶來複雜的挑戰,使得門檻的建立和執行變得困難。

美國環保署 (EPA) 已實施多種工具來確定水體和水生生物的污染物閾值。常用的閾值是每日最大總負荷(TMDL),它限制允許進入水體的特定污染物的數量。這對於來自以下來源的廢水污染物特別有效: 非點源。一些額外的 EPA 工具包括營養資料層(全國個人數字助理),水質建模程序(黃蜂),以及用於生物損傷的診斷工具(計算機輔助設計)。這些工具可以幫助管理者確定和執行廢水污染閾值。

por youjizz xxx 老師xxx 性別
Translate »

Water Quality Monitoring

Underwater sewer pipe. Photo © Grafner/iStock

In order to understand if wastewater pollution is impacting a particular environment or establish the source and extent of the problem, it is important for managers to establish baseline conditions and set up a monitoring program. Even the smallest sampling projects benefit from careful planning to identify the problem, define clear methods and quality assurance steps, and consider data processing and communication plans.

The key stages in a water quality program are:

  1. Define the problem. What potential wastewater impacts do you hope to identify? What data already exist, such as site-specific information about wastewater infrastructure?
  2. Conduct targeted water quality monitoring using processes that incorporate input from experts where possible (e.g., which sites to monitor, what indicators to focus on, how will data be collected).
  3. Develop and implement advanced studies to help trace pollution sources.
  4. Analyze and summarize data for communication to partners, decision-makers, and any other important stakeholders, keeping in mind what data are compelling to your audience.
  5. Use the information to guide a planning process or management action.

Enroll in our free, self-paced Wastewater Pollution Online Course to learn more about these key stages.

 

To detect changes in water quality related to wastewater, reef managers should consider measuring the following indicators:

Nitrogen and phosphorus, essential nutrients for plants and animals, are common indicators of nutrients. Sources of nitrogen include wastewater treatment plant discharges, runoff from fertilized lawns and croplands, cesspools and failing septic systems, runoff from animal manure and storage areas, and industrial discharges that contain corrosion inhibitors. Common measures of nitrogen and phosphorus include: Total Nitrogen (all organic and inorganic, dissolved and particulate forms of nitrogen found in a sample), ammonia, nitrates, nitrites, and Total Phosphorus (all forms of phosphorous).

Lastly, silicate is an important chemical measure that is a signature of groundwater. High silicates indicate freshwater sources. Silicate is usually measured at a lab along with nitrate and phosphate. These indicators can be measured by an autoanalyzer or a lab facility for ~$50 USD/sample.

Salinity can be measured cheaply using a refractometer, and temperature with a portable sensor. Salinity might be especially useful when identifying sites for long term monitoring.

Dissolved Oxygen (DO) is an important parameter in assessing water quality because of its influence on marine organisms.

Low DO can indicate an abundance of phytoplankton or bacteria that is consuming oxygen. DO is measured using a calibrated multi‐parameter water quality meter—or sonde—(costing ~$1,000-$15,000 USD).

Turbidity—a key test of water clarity that might be impacted by phytoplankton—is commonly assessed using a Secchi disk to measure the depth to which sunlight penetrates.

Other portable digital methods, such as a conductivity meter and turbidity meter enhance the ability to collect data in real time but require maintenance and calibration.

Fecal indicator bacteria (FIB) from human waste such as E. coli, Enterococcus, or C. perfringens can be used to identify wastewater. Simple field tests have been developed that test for FIB in water. One example is in the case of rural Tanzania where hydrogen sulfide tests were provided to 433 households, enabling them to monitor their own water sources and make informed choices about water safety and treatment. Unfortunately for marine managers, in coastal regions the concentration of bacteria is typically too low for these kinds of field tests and lab analysis is required to detect them.

Another option is to collect water samples and conduct FIB testing using a satellite lab (~$3,000 USD) or traditional lab and culturing method, such as the Enterolert test (IDEXX) used by Surfrider at a cost of about $11 USD/sample.

Chlorophyll a is the main green photosynthetic pigment found in all plants including phytoplanktonic algae and a proxy for planktonic primary producers. The concentration of chlorophyll a in coral reef waters is an indicator of the abundance and biomass of phytoplankton, which are the direct or indirect source of food for most marine animals. Low chlorophyll a levels suggest good water condition. However, it is the long‐term persistence of elevated levels that is a problem, so chlorophyll a should be monitored at least monthly to quantify seasonal changes in phytoplankton biomass. Chlorophyll a can be measured with filtration and lab equipment and if sent to a lab, costs ~$20 USD/sample.

These data can identify patterns and major changes if collected over many years. Managers can use this information to start to correlate water quality data/patterns with patterns of coral health and percent coral cover. These indicators are also relatively cost efficient. There are several field tests that can be performed with portable kits or relatively inexpensive (<$1,000 USD) handheld devices. These field tests require small volume water samples and provide results within minutes. For managers with limited time or budget to commit to a monitoring program, these are the first methods that can be used. Managers might consider what the detection limits are to these methods and if they are appropriate in their region. For instance, in clear ocean waters, it might be difficult to pick up a chlorophyll a signal or use a Secchi disk.

Tests to Detect Changes in Water Quality:

INDICATORTEST METHOD/MATERIALS
Chlorophyll aChlorophyll meter
DO (dissolved oxygen)Sensor measurement or calorimeter
Total Dissolved Solids (TDS) or TurbiditySecchi disk, turbidity meter, or sensors

It’s important to acknowledge these indicators don’t directly indicate wastewater pollution since other sources or factors can contribute to modified levels. For example, nutrients could be from agriculture or development and fecal indicator bacteria can also come from animals or soils.

Tracing Pollution Sources

Identifying the presence of wastewater in the ocean is difficult and relies on multiple tests to identify different contaminants commonly found in wastewater. More sophisticated testing that measures nitrogen isotopes and contaminants that have a human source like pharmaceuticals and organic-waste compounds, such as detergent metabolites or food additives, can help confirm wastewater and its source(s).

There are tests that can provide more specific measurements and identify contaminants more commonly associated with wastewater but they are often expensive to run because they require access to specialized, expensive machines and trained technicians.

Tests to Trace Pollution Sources:

INDICATORTEST METHOD
CaffeineMass spectrometry
DNALab test (eDNA qPCR or fluorescence quantification)
PharmaceuticalsELISA, bioassays
Endocrine Disruptors (e.g., estrogen)Mass spectrometry, bioassays (exposure of fish or tissue cultures)
Bacteria (E. coli, E. faecalis, C. perfringens)Quantification measurement by heterotrophic plate count, microarray, or qPCR
MetalsMass spectrometry
Nitrogen IsotopesMass spectrometry
SterolsMass spectrometry
SucraloseMass spectrometry

Water samples are taken in the field and often require large volumes which must be concentrated to perform the analysis. If a lab is not nearby, samples can be shipped, but temperature, time, and cost are all limitations. It is recommended that managers work on creating collaborations or partnerships with local universities, who are often excited to have students working on real-life issues, and can help to offset the costs of sample analysis and data analysis with grant funding. Each water quality indicator contributes to our understanding of what pollutants are in our water. Monitoring and analysis strategies that compile measurements of several indicators, combined with mapping of discharge locations, can more accurately pinpoint wastewater pollution types and sources.

See the Resources section for more detailed water quality monitoring methodologies.

 

Examples of Monitoring Programs

  • Hui O Ka Wai Ola on Maui, Hawaiʻi is a water quality sampling program whose mission is to deepen the understanding of Maui’s coastal water quality through science and advocacy to accelerate positive change.
  • Volunteers collect water samples to track turbidity and nitrates using standardized EPA methods that are approved by the State of Hawaiʻi Department of Health. Samples and data are collected by volunteer citizen scientists and are used for decision making around water quality standards and management plans.
  • Data from field sampling efforts are consolidated into a database support ongoing monitoring that are used in analysis, to track pollution events, and to recognize water quality and coral reef trends over time.
  • The goal of the Surfrider Bluewater Task Force Program goal is to raise awareness about local pollution problems and bring together communities to implement solutions.
  • It includes 50 chapter-run labs and volunteers who test water quality at surfing beaches including those in Hawaiʻi, Florida, and Puerto Rico.
  • The water tests measure fecal indicator bacteria (Enterococcus bacteria, which is different from the Maui program which tests turbidity and nitrates) and test different sources of pollution (drainage pipes, etc.) and then are compared to water quality standards set by the EPA to protect public health in recreational waters.

Data for Monitoring Programs

Innovative and cost-effective measurement and reporting tools are needed to help marine managers uncover wastewater pollution issues and sources in less resource-intensive ways. Data including visualizations and modeling, remote sensing, and spatial imagery supplement wastewater pollution monitoring efforts and help inform management actions. Models created using local data can be particularly useful in predicting water quality.

Other tools collect global data on algal blooms, coral bleaching events, sea surface fluctuations, and eutrophication potential, which have local application and relevance. Publicly available data can be combined with local geographic data, such as locations of wastewater treatment plants, to understand pollution sources. Managers can also combine these data with field and lab tests to understand baseline conditions, prioritize monitoring tests, and identify data gaps to better quantify water quality changes over time. Examples of these online data platforms/visualization tools, include:

  • Ocean Tipping Points, which presents quantifiable measures of water quality (like nitrogen and phosphorus levels) with observed reef conditions in an interactive map. This tool provides a dataset for the Hawaiian Islands and supports management actions to protect reef ecosystems. It also includes a nutrient layer which was created using the InVEST NDR model, which looks broadly at nitrogen and phosphorus sources.
  • Allen Coral Atlas, which utilizes high-resolution satellite imagery and advanced analytics to map the world’s coral reefs in unprecedented detail. A new turbidity layer has been added, which could be helpful for water quality monitoring. These products support coral reef science, management, conservation, and policy across the planet.

How Monitoring Can Inform Wastewater Regulations

Regulations can aid in the mitigation of wastewater pollution for example by providing data on pollution thresholds. The establishment of local regulations to prevent wastewater-borne contaminants from reaching the threshold could then be implemented. With defined pollution thresholds, communities can better determine when specific responses should be taken, like shutting down beaches for recreation or issuing a boil water advisory. However, regulatory inconsistencies can present a complex challenge for wastewater managers making thresholds challenging to establish and enforce.

Several tools have been implemented by the US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) to establish contaminant thresholds for water bodies and aquatic life. A commonly used threshold is a total maximum daily load, or TMDL, which limits the amount of a specific contaminant permitted to enter a water body. This is especially effective for wastewater contaminants that are derived from nonpoint sources. A few of the additional EPA tools include nutrient data layers (NPDAT), a water quality modeling program (WASP), and a diagnostic tool for biological impairment (CADDIS). These tools can help managers to identify and enforce wastewater pollution thresholds.

pporno youjizz xmxx teacher xxx Sex
Translate »